Board of Directors

NEWESD 101 Board of Directors
ESDs are governed by a lay board of directors consisting of directors of seven to nine citizens who are accountable to and elected by the school board members in the region's public school districts. The Board members represent geographic direct districts based on the U.S. Census data. The ESD Board provides direction to the superintendent, who is advised by local school district superintendents.

Our Goals
   We will provide leadership that assures NEWESD 101 serves as a vision creator and collaboration instigator with and among the school districts, higher education, business, and private and non-profit partners within the service region.
   We will 
actively involve and engaged in the programs and services of NEWESD 101. Each one of us will serve as liaisons for the major areas of NEWESD 101 services including administrative services, student learning and support services, operations and technical services, communication
and development services, technology services, and human services.

Regular Board meetings
 are scheduled at 4:00 PM on the third Tuesday of every month between August and June, at the NEWESD 101 Regal Conference Center, Classroom 2, 4202 S. Regal Street, Spokane, WA.
Your Board of Directors

J. Rand Lothspeich, 
Director District 1

Picture of RandLothspeichTerm expires: January 2022 ~ Board member since: January 2009

School Districts:
Columbia, Curlew, Evergreen, Inchelium, Keller, Kettle Falls,
Mary Walker, Nine Mile Falls, Northport, Orient, Republic, Spokane (partial),
Summit Valley, Valley, Wellpinit

Director District 2
Contact Michael Dunn at or (509) 789-3500

Term expires: January 2024 ~ Board member since:

School Districts: Almira, Benge, Cheney, Creston, Davenport, Great Northern, 
Harrington, Lamont, Lind, Medical Lake, Odessa, Reardan-Edwall, Ritzville, 
Spokane (partial), Sprague, Washtucna, Wilbur

June Sine, Director District 3

Picture of June SineTerm expires: January 2022 ~ Board member since: January 2010

School Districts: Cusick, East Valley (partial), Orchard Prairie, Mead (partial),
Newport, Riverside, Selkirk, Spokane (partial), 
West Valley

Phil Champlin, 
Director District 4

ChamplinTerm expires: January 2024 ~ Board member since: January 2019

School Districts: Chewelah, Colville, Deer Park, Loon Lake, Mead (partial), 
Onion Creek, Spokane (partial)

Emmett Arndt, Director District 5

Picture of Emmett ArndtTerm expires: January 2022 ~ Board member since: August 2015

School Districts: Colfax, Colton, Endicott, Freeman, Garfield, LaCrosse, Liberty,
Oakesdale, Palouse, Pullman, Rosalia, St. John, Spokane (partial), Steptoe, Tekoa

Sally Pfeifer, Director District 6 (Board Chair)

Picture of Sally PfeiferTerm expires: January 2024 ~ Board member since: January 2014

School District: Spokane (partial)

Chuck Stocker, Director District 7  (Board Vice Chair)

Picture of Chuck Stocker

Term expires: January 2022 ~ Board member since: August 2017

School Districts: Central Valley , East Valley  (partial)

Upcoming Board Meetings
September 15, 2020 

Board Meetings Archive
August 18, 2020 
Agenda / Minutes
June 16, 2020
Agenda Minutes
May 19, 2020
Agenda Minutes
April 21, 2020
Agenda / Minutes
March 17, 2020
Agenda Minutes
February 18, 2020
Agenda / Minutes
January 21, 2020
Agenda/ Minutes
December 17, 2019
Agenda / Minutes
November 19, 2019
Agenda / Minutes
October 15, 2019

Agenda / Minutes
September 17, 2019
Agenda / Minutes
August 20, 2019

Agenda  / Minutes

NEWESD Board Policies

Open Public Meeting Training

Association of Educational Service Districts (AESD)

Administrative Regulations
Revised Code of WA (RCW)

Election Resources
OSPI Office of Professional Practice

Dr. Michael Dunn
(509) 789-3500

Mary Kempel
Executive Secretary
(509) 456-2715